January 23, 2011

Rockcliffe University SL, 12 p.m. Saturday 29 January 2011

Rockcliffe University SL, 12 p.m. Saturday 29 January 2011. (3 p.m. EST 21.00 Suisse.)

A very esoteric concert of Renaissance duos for Recorders featuring Thom Dowd and Françoise Prongué playing some very special renaissance recorders made by Thomas Prescott. The music is from the very end of the Italian renaissance and is a great example of the polyphony of the period. This concert can be heard live in ITUNES. 
Open ITunes/advanced/open audio stream 

Guiseppi Giamberti (ca.1600 in Rome, † ca. 1662) was an Italian Chapelmaster and Composer. Giamberti was a pupil of Nanino and Agostini and became the master of the chapel of the Orvieto Cathedral in Rome. Most of his compositions were of a sacred nature and his last published works went through three further editions they were so popular. ~ Keith Johnson, Rovi
I Perfidia sopra Ut Re Mi Fa Sol La              Ténors
IX                                                                 Ténors
XII Cantilena                                                 Ténors
XXI                                                              Alto-Ténor
XXII                                                             Alto-Ténor
XXXVI Villan di Spagna                              Ténors
XXXVIII Civetta                                          Ténors
VIII Ballo di Mantua                                     Soprano-Ténor
XVI                                                              Soprano-Ténor
XXV                                                            Ténor-Basse
III Scherzi sopra la Girometta                        Ténor-Basse
IV Bergamasca                                              Ténor-Basse
V Fra Iacopino                                              Alto-Basse
XXX Piva                                                     Alto-Basse
XXXIV Corrente                                          Alto-Basse
XXXVII Corrente                                         Alto-Basse
Paolo Fonghetti 
12 Madrigali A cura di Andrea Bornstein (Verona 1598)
No 2 Deh, Dove Senza Me                         Alto-ténor
No 3 A Caso Un Giorno (Prima Parte)      Soprano-Alto
No 16 Vidi Da Dui Bei Lumi                     Soprano-Alto